Free samplesSamples

Find data center projects worth investigating.

For equipment suppliers and business development teams: a state by state report of data center developments, including project locations, planned equipment, development status, and links to original government records.

See what is known, what is uncertain, and which projects deserve further research.

Free, with no sign up. Georgia covers 18 projects and Indiana 7. A report for your state is $490, one time: order here.

Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementAir permit notice, posted Sep 25, 2026

Significant source modification for Lavender Fields Holdings, LLC, 402 Royal Road, Michigan City, LaPorte County, to add diesel fired critical emergency generators to a permitted data center.

The draft permit lists 66 new generators at 3,490 kWe each.

Virtual public hearing November 17, 2026; comments accepted through November 23, 2026.

Summarized from the IDEM public notice (opens in new tab) and draft permit (opens in new tab).

The same project in the Indiana sample Row IN005

Applicant
Lavender Fields Holdings, LLC
Equipment
66 new diesel generators, 3,490 kWe each (the notice says 67)
Status
Draft air permit, open for public comment
Next date
Virtual public hearing, Nov 17, 2026
News check
News came first; the earliest story we could open is from Mar 23, 2026

Behind the Georgia sample

  • 26 weekly state air permit advisories, opened one by one
  • 15 county and city planning sources, plus 6 regional commissions and the state review system
  • 14 sources that could not be read, each named in the report
  • 8 rounds of independent checking before it was final

Every project, laid out the same way

A report covers one state and the government records from the six months before your order. Each project gets the same fields, so your team can compare them at a glance and check any of them in a minute.

Location and applicant
County, city, the site address when the record gives one, and the company named on the filing, including project LLCs.
Government record
A direct link to the permit, agenda, docket or filing the project comes from.
Development status
Where the project stands as of the record: filed, under review, approved, denied or challenged.
Equipment as stated
Generators, substations, cooling and on site power, with counts and ratings when the record gives them. Nothing is inferred.
Key dates
Hearings, comment deadlines and votes, past and upcoming, each with its source.
Risks
Denials, withdrawals, lawsuits, permit challenges and organized opposition, each with its source.
News check
The earliest news story we found, and whether it came before, after or on the same day as the record.
Priority and buying window
Investigate now, Monitor or Deprioritize by fixed rules printed in the report, with whether buying looks open, may already have happened, or is unclear, and a suggested next research step.
Leads and gaps
Projects in the news that we could not yet tie to a record, and every source we could not read.

Format A PDF report to read and share, and an Excel spreadsheet to sort, filter and add to your own lists.

Not included Contacts, buying timelines, bid dates, build predictions, exclusive leads, every project in the state, or updates after delivery.

Decide which projects deserve your time

Public records hold details the headlines leave out. Each example below is a real record from the samples and the field it became.

Check the fit

See which projects have filed for generators, substations or cooling, and at what scale when the record says.

Construction and installation of (8) standby diesel generators with a total maximum output of 21.6 MW.
From the Georgia EPD public advisory (opens in new tab), Whitfield County; comment period ended Jun 26, 2026

Equipment as stated8 standby diesel generators, 21.6 MW total

Know what comes next

Upcoming hearings, comment periods and votes show where each project is in the approval process.

Air permit application 30374 for a data center campus, Amazon Data Services: comments due November 6, 2026.

Summary of a Georgia EPD public advisory (opens in new tab) listed Oct 7, 2026, Douglas County

Key dateComments due Nov 6, 2026

See the obstacles

Denials, withdrawals and lawsuits are flagged with their sources, so you can weigh a project before you pursue it.

“The petition was denied.”
From the Coweta County meeting recap (opens in new tab) on the Walt Sanders Road data center rezoning, Aug 25, 2026

RiskRezoning denied, Aug 25, 2026

What a report does not tell you: who is buying, when they will buy, or from whom. It tells you what the public record says, so your team starts from facts you can verify.

Why not just search for it?

You can. Every record in a report is public. The work is finding and reading them: for the Georgia sample we checked 33 sources, from state permit notices to county planning agendas, and could read 19 of them. Records do not always use the words “data center”.

Scroll sideways to compare with the other three.

How a SpecWindow report compares with other ways to find data center projects
QuestionSpecWindow reportSearching yourselfNews coverageProject intelligence subscriptions
CostOne time, per stateFree, plus your team’s timeFreeUsually a subscription; many price on request
CoverageOne state, six months of government recordsAs many sites as you have time to checkProjects reporters choose to coverBroad, often national, updated over time
Link to the government recordEvery project, and a source for every factIf you find itSometimesRarely advertised for each project
Equipment detailAs stated in the record, with counts and ratings when givenIn the record, if you read all of itRarelyVaries by service
Shows what it could not readEvery unreadable source is namedOnly if you keep notesNoNot usually stated
Contacts and alertsNot includedNoAlerts, no contactsSome include them

Subscriptions compared by category, from their public product descriptions as of October 2026.

How we verify project information

A project goes in a report only when a government record names the project, its site or its applicant and shows an official action. Then every row is checked.

  1. Find the recordsAI research agents (Claude, by Anthropic) search state permits, utility dockets, county agendas and other official sources, following a fixed written procedure.
  2. Source every factEach equipment figure, date and risk in a row links to the page it came from.
  3. Check every row separatelyA second AI agent that did no research opens each source and checks each row. Errors are fixed and rechecked. A report is final only when a full round finds no blocking errors and every later edit has been checked again.
  4. Compare with the newsWe record the earliest news story we found, so you can see what is already public knowledge.
  5. List what we could not readSites that block automated reading are never worked around. They are named in the report, so you know its limits.

Caught in review: Georgia row GA007, Kinetic Infrastructure Solutions, Columbia County

Draft

News check: record came first

Air permit bulletin, Jun 24, 2026
Reviewer found

The Augusta Press (opens in new tab) reported the company’s land purchase on Dec 25, 2025.

Final report

News check: news came first

About six months before the record
It was the only row in the Georgia draft that said the record came first. The first review rounds caught 7 blocking errors across the two samples, plus smaller issues; each was fixed and rechecked before release.

What we do not claim

We tested these ideas on our own research before building the report.

  • That records come before the newsIn the two samples, the news came first for 23 of 25 projects and on the same day for 1; we found no news for 1. A report lists each project’s official action in the last six months, which often follows the first story. Its value is the detail the record adds.
  • That a project will be builtOf 64 past cases we studied that reached a decision, 28 did not go ahead as filed. Reports show the denials and challenges instead of a prediction.
  • That a report lists every projectAbout 1 in 5 past cases we could date reached the news before any public filing we could find.

Read two full reports before you decide

Both samples cover government records dated Apr 18 to Oct 18, 2026, and were checked the same way a paid report will be. Five of their rows:

Five rows from the Georgia and Indiana sample reports
ProjectGovernment recordEquipment as statedKey dateRiskNews
Amazon Data ServicesWheatfield, Jasper County, INIDEM draft permit notice (opens in new tab), Sep 24, 2026384 diesel emergency generators at 2,750 kWe each, per Section A of the draft permit (opens in new tab)Virtual hearing Nov 10, 2026None flaggedNews first
Lavender Fields Holdings, LLCMichigan City, LaPorte County, INIDEM permit modification notice (opens in new tab), Sep 25, 202666 new diesel generators at 3,490 kWe eachVirtual hearing Nov 17, 2026None flaggedNews first
Amazon Data ServicesDouglasville, Douglas County, GAGeorgia EPD air permit advisory (opens in new tab), Oct 7, 2026Not statedComments due Nov 6, 2026None flaggedNo news found
LDO Coweta, LLCCoweta County, GACounty staff memo (opens in new tab), Jun 22, 2026Substation proposed; closed loop cooling plannedDenied Aug 25, 2026DeniedNews first
4AM Development, LLCStatesboro, Bulloch County, GACity council action agenda (opens in new tab), Aug 18, 2026Not statedRezoning approved 3 to 2, Aug 18, 2026Lawsuit filed Sep 17, 2026News first

Questions

Can I order a report now?

Yes. A report covers one state and costs $490, one time, with delivery by email within 5 business days of payment. Order a report. The Georgia and Indiana samples stay free.

Who is the report for?

Equipment manufacturers, distributors, manufacturers’ representatives and business development teams that sell power, electrical or cooling equipment and services into data center construction.

Which states will you cover?

We plan to cover any U.S. state. Some states publish far more online than others, so every report names the sources it read and the ones it could not.

How current will a report be?

It will cover government records dated in the six months before your order, with delivery by email within 5 business days of payment.

Who does the research?

AI research agents (Claude, by Anthropic) collect the records under a fixed written procedure. A separate AI agent checks every row against its sources before delivery. SpecWindow works only from public records and never contacts the projects it reports on.

Can I share it with my team?

Yes, within your company. Please do not resell or republish it as a dataset. The underlying records stay public.

Start with a free sample

Read the Georgia or Indiana report and judge whether it would help your team. Want your own state? A report is $490, one time.

Email [email protected]