State project lists

A free SpecWindow project list. Records checked Oct 26, 2026; they can change after that date.

Illinois data center projects in government records, 2026

8 data center projects found in Illinois records dated April 26 to October 26, 2026: City of Chicago and Cook County building permits, a Chicago City Council tax incentive ordinance, and city and village zoning, plat and site plan records in Yorkville, Coal City and Itasca. 1 gives generator counts, modeled in a noise study filed with the City of Yorkville. Every project links to its government record.

The Illinois EPA air permit notice and environmental justice letter lists load only with JavaScript and could not be read, several village document portals (including Elk Grove Village, Grayslake, South Elgin and Mount Prospect) block automated access, and most downstate counties were not checked, so this is a sample of projects, not a complete list.

C1 Yorkville, CyrusOne CHI-11 West data center campus (northeast corner of Eldamain Road and Faxon Road)

Yorkville, Kendall County, Illinois

Record
Final plat submittal, case PZC 2026-12, petition narrative and cover letter dated Sep 22, 2026, posted by the city. yorkville.il.us
Applicant as named
C1 Yorkville LLC (petitioner on the city page and petition narrative)
Stage
Zoning approved: the petition narrative says the city approved a major change to the amended PUD and a First Amended PUD Agreement on Jul 14, 2026; the final plat for about 228 acres and eight buildings (about 1.85 million sq ft) was submitted Sep 22, 2026, with meeting dates listed as to be determined.
Equipment stated
Modeled in an acoustic study by Trinity Consultants, submitted with the petition and posted by the city, for seven 72 MW buildings and one 36 MW building: 57 generators per 72 MW building and 29 per 36 MW building (428 in all by our sum), power rating not stated; 56 air cooled chillers per 72 MW building and 28 per 36 MW building; a substation with 8 transformers. The study says it is based on expected equipment and that final equipment selections are still being finalized.

Office to data center conversion, 400 S. LaSalle Street

Loop, Chicago, Cook County, Illinois

Record
City of Chicago building permit 101084518 (phase 3 of 3), issued Sep 16, 2026, on the city open data portal. data.cityofchicago.org
Applicant as named
Legacy GI TC 400 LaSalle LLC (owner on the permit)
Stage
Permit issued: the phase 3 permit to convert the existing 7 story office building to a data center was issued Sep 16, 2026, with a reported cost of $151,112,046; the phase 2 infrastructure permit was issued Jul 6, 2026, reported cost $51,100,000.
Equipment stated
Permit states new equipment with associated mechanical, electrical and plumbing upgrades; the phase 2 permit covers electrical distribution from the ComEd vault to upper floors. Specific equipment is not stated.

Aligned Data Centers campus, southeast corner of East Reed Road and South Carbon Hill Road

Coal City, Grundy County, Illinois

Record
Planned unit development and annexation submittal, applicant narrative dated Jul 20, 2026, posted by the village. coalcity-il.gov
Applicant as named
Aligned Data Centers, represented by Kimley-Horn (PUD narrative)
Stage
Early land or zoning: PUD submittal for a site of about 320 acres under village review; the village data center page lists no hearing date.
Equipment stated
Proposed in the PUD narrative posted by the village: a new 30 acre ComEd public utility substation and a user substation; a generator yard at each data center building (nine buildings per the utility use memo), count and rating not stated; temporary onsite natural gas fired generation until ComEd energization; a closed loop, non evaporative cooling system. Battery energy storage is requested as a permitted use, with no specific system proposed.

Data hall and generator buildings, 900 E. Higgins Road (address as listed in the permit record)

Elk Grove Village, Cook County, Illinois

Record
Building permit B24-0932, issued Jun 22, 2026, in the Cook County building permit dataset. datacatalog.cookcountyil.gov
Applicant as named
Wintrust Bank (applicant name on the record; the operator is not named)
Stage
Permit issued: building permit for a new 3 story data hall and two generator buildings issued Jun 22, 2026, permit amount $87,000,000.
Equipment stated
Permitted: two generator buildings; generator count and rating not stated.

Existing data center cooling upgrade, 717 S. Wells Street (6th floor)

South Loop, Chicago, Cook County, Illinois

Record
City of Chicago building permit 101079611, issued Jun 16, 2026, on the city open data portal. data.cityofchicago.org
Applicant as named
717 S Wells Tenant, LLC (owner on the permit)
Stage
Operating site, expansion: permit for alterations to an existing 6th floor data center issued Jun 16, 2026, reported cost $3,000,000.
Equipment stated
Permitted: 6 new CRAH units replacing 5 existing air handling units, and new air cooled chillers on the roof, chiller count not stated.

Metro Edge data center, 1951 W. Hastings Street (Illinois Medical District)

Near West Side, Chicago, Cook County, Illinois

Record
Chicago City Council ordinance O2026-0025296 supporting a Class 6(b) property tax incentive, introduced May 20, 2026. chicityclerkelms.chicago.gov Read through the Chicago City Clerk's official legislation data feed.
Applicant as named
MEDP Mission Critical Facility, LLC (named in the ordinance text)
Stage
Early land or zoning: tax incentive ordinance for an approximately 324,600 sq ft data center was referred to the Committee on Economic, Capital and Technology Development on May 20, 2026 and was still in committee when checked.
Equipment stated
None stated in the records we opened.

NTT CH5 data center

Itasca, DuPage County, Illinois

Record
Class I site plan review, resubdivision, plat of vacation and variations (Ord. 2178-26), Village Board agenda, May 5, 2026. itasca.com
Applicant as named
NTT (as named in the agenda item; the applicant entity is not stated)
Stage
Early land or zoning: on the Village Board agenda for discussion and possible action May 5, 2026; the minutes could not be read, so the outcome is not confirmed here.
Equipment stated
None stated in the records we opened.

Stream Data Centers building, 2000 Landmeier Road

Elk Grove Village, Cook County, Illinois

Record
Building permit B24-1347, issued Apr 29, 2026, in the Cook County building permit dataset. datacatalog.cookcountyil.gov
Applicant as named
Stream Data Centers
Stage
Permit issued: building permit for a new data building issued Apr 29, 2026, permit amount $232,000,000.
Equipment stated
None stated in the records we opened.

Want a current report for Illinois or another state? A State Project Scan is a PDF report and Excel spreadsheet of the data center projects found in one state's government records from the last six months, with equipment reported as the underlying record states it: applicant as named, location, stage, next public dates, the buying window and a suggested next research step. Every row links to its government record.

Order a state report, $490See a sample (PDF)

One time, no subscription, delivered by email within 5 business days. Questions? Email [email protected].